Council elects Councillor Marrilyn Smart OBE as Chairman

Councillor Marrilyn Smart OBE has been elected as Chairman of Forest of Dean District Council with Councillor James Bevan as her deputy.

Both councillors were voted into their new positions last night at the annual meeting.

The Chairman, Councillor Marrilyn Smart said: “I am delighted to have been elected as Chairman of the Forest of Dean District Council and I regard it as a privilege and huge honour.  As we move forward to the final year of this Council I hope that we can all work together amicably for the benefit of the residents of the Forest of Dean.”

Vice Chairman Councillor James Bevan added: “I’m proud and honoured to hold the position of Vice Chairman and I look forward to carrying out lots of good work in the community over the forthcoming year.”

Other appointments made at the annual meeting are as follows:

Audit Committee

Chairman: Brian Jones
Vice Chairman: Clive Elsmore

Licensing Committee

Chairman: Clayton Williams
Vice Chairman: Jane Horne

Planning Committee

Chairman: Philip Burford
Vice Chairman: Jane Horne

Strategic Overview and Scrutiny Committee

Chairman: Patrick Molyneux
Vice Chairman: Alan Preest


  • 01594 810000