Forest landscape shows all its splendour

The Forest of Dean showed off its special characteristics last week as members of DEFRA’s ‘Landscape Designations Review Panel’ paid a special visit.

The Forest of Dean District Council hosted an informal visit to the area by panel member Dame Fiona Claire Reynolds DBE on Friday 4 January.

The panel is looking at National Parks and AONB’s to consider how effective the designations are and how they fit with DEFRA’s 25-Year Environment Plan, but they  are also reviewing options for the future.  With this in mind, Dame Fiona’s visit enabled her to experience some of the wonderful landscapes in the district, and hear to about some of the area’s special characteristics. 

During her visit, Dame Fiona met Cllr Chris McFarling, Forest of Dean DC Cabinet member for environment, wildlife, heritage and culture, as well as representatives from several local cultural, historical and business interest groups.

Commenting on the visit, Cllr McFarling said, “It was great to have a member of the panel come and see the Forest of Dean first hand. Dame Fiona showed a real interest in the area and was clearly impressed by the landscapes and the passion of local people. We wait to see the panel report”.

(DEFRA’s Landscape Review Panel report is expected in the autumn of 2019.

More information is available at:


Notes to editors

Dame Fiona Claire Reynolds DBE is Master of Emmanuel College, Cambridge. She was the Director-General of the National Trust until November 2012.

Reynolds held senior positions in the Council for National Parks and the Campaign for Rural England before joining the Cabinet Office as Director of the Women's Unit in 1998. She was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire in 1998.

She became Director General of the National Trust in 2001. During her tenure, membership of the charity, which looks after 612,000 acres of land in the United Kingdom, grew from 2.7 to 4 million people. She was appointed Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire in the 2008 New Year Honours for ‘services to heritage and conservation’.


  • 01594 810000