Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. About the council
  3. Elections and voting
  4. Types of elections

Types of elections

Types of elections

Please see details below of the types of elections that are held in the Forest of Dean:



Next election

Further information

Parliamentary (general) election for Forest of Dean constituency

The Forest of Dean constituency covers all wards of the Forest of Dean district and the Highnam with Hawbridge ward of Tewkesbury Borough

Must be held no later than May 2029

Current MP is Matt Bishop (Labour)

See Forest of Dean constituency representation

Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) election Gloucestershire Police area

Police and Crime Commissioners (PCCs) oversee how crime is tackled in a police force area

May 2028

Every four years 

County Council elections

The Forest of Dean area is split into eight divisions, each division is represented by one County Councillor

May 2025

Every four years

Find your local County Councillors

District elections for Forest of Dean

There are currently 38 councillors representing 21 wards within the Forest of Dean.

May 2027

Every four years

Find Councillor information

View the Ward Boundaries Map

Parish elections

Within the Forest of Dean area there are 40 parish councils


Every 4 years but casual vacancies if a councillor resigns from office

View parish council details and contacts

Neighbourhood Planning Referendum

Neighbourhood Plans can be prepared by Town or Parish Councils and set out how the community would like land to be used and developed in the area. Once a Neighbourhood Plan has been passed by an independent examiner the Council organise a referendum so the community has the final say on whether a Neighbourhood Plan becomes part of the development plan for the area.

As required

Find any scheduled neighbourhood planning referendums on the current and future elections page.